powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Alora-Dream
Alora-Dream

two days
previous < 2003-03-11 - 10:25 a.m. next >

So yeah, I am nervous about going to Thailand in two days.

I once told Andie and Jenny my little story about backpacking in Europe. I have this thing...I like to plan minute details. I spent a half-hour trying to figure out what time to sleep on the airplane so I will be fully rested when I land at 9 a.m. Bangkok time.

My planning for backpaking made much less sense. I figured I wouldn't be washing my panties every other minute, so I would need what? granny-paties of course! They went far past my belly button and I could wear panty liners and everything would be great.

I also decided that, instead of my regular socks, I would buy a pack of bright, white Costco socks. I never wear white socks at home. But somehow, for some reason, bright white Costco socks seemed to make sense.

It gets worse.

I bought a new pair of shoes that were comfortable, but ugly. I bought the ugliest jacket I could possibly find that would protect me from the cold, wind, and rain (which it did). I bought pants I would never wear at home (too ugly) and shirts I would never wear here either.

And somehow, I thought this would make my trip easier.

I honestly (really!) thought that in Genoa, the gritty port city of Italy, I would see pirates with one leg and birds on their shoulders.

I thought that Europeans would look and dress like the people of eastern Europe circa 1989.

Forget Milan, and the the international cities of Amsterdam, Rome, Florence.

Yes, I needed to get out more!

Turns out, all this crap I bought was useless and made me feel really stupid.

And all that time I spent worrying about how many pairs of white, elephant sized granny panties I should bring could have been used for much better things....like reading about Michaelanglo and researching the coffee of the world!

host

Blorf! don't click here My Profile email archive newest


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com